It Ain’t Me, Babe

iambIt Ain’t Me, Babe

By: Tillie Cole

5 “Bad Ass Mute Biker” Stars

Genre: MC Romance

Cliffhanger: No, but it is part of a series.

Price: $2.99 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Luccio Moscato D’Asti

Recommendation: If you like MC Romance.

Today, I thought to give the dark books a break and switch to a MC (motorcycle club) Romance instead. They tend to be a little dark but mostly gritty, dirty, and chock-full-of alpha men, loose women, and damaged moral compasses. These books tend to be a hit-or-miss for me, depending on the author’s writing style and whether or not they employ an editor. Most of the MC books out there tend to be self-published, and while I am definitely a fan of DIY authors, most tend to not even do a cursory spell check, and that I cannot abide.

iamb2.gif

Spell check is your friend. I can deal with plot holes the size of the Grand Canyon, and my tolerance for TSTL characters is higher than most, but when an author fails to spell even the most basic words, or even employ the spell-check button provided by EVERY document program known to man…

iamb3

…but I digress. This book has very few, if any, typos so I was definitely in my happy place in regards to that. I liked how fleshed out the characters were. Tillie Cole made some very complex characters and though the main characters in this book were interesting and deep in their own right, I found myself more interested in a side character of this story instead. So interested in fact, I had to immediately stop reading, check the author’s page and breathed a sigh of relief when I saw that he has his own book. After putting that behind me, I was able to breeze through the 400+ pages of this book with a considerable weight off my chest and more anticipation in my heart than a kid on Christmas Eve.

iamb5

This book, however, was about a tough, mute, MC president and a broken, traumatized girl who ran away from a cult only to be found by him, injured and close to dying. She wasn’t a stranger though. He met her 15 years before out in the middle of the woods behind a fence where they “have a moment”. He had to leave her to her fate then because he was only a small boy, but now he is a man and though he is a hard, violent one—to her he was able to show another side. A softer, loving side.

“You need a strong man, babe. You need a man to love you, to protect you, to be your fuckin’ world.”

Her breath paused and I smirked.

“It’s me, babe. It’s so fuckin’ me.”

She makes him better, he made her stronger. They seemed better by being together. Complimentary. When her past comes back to catch up to her, he and his club is there to protect her and show her that though they are what most deem as “bad guys”, they are also a family. I like how intense he was with her. He knew she was “it” for him and did everything he could to make sure she was happy, and she gave it back to him in spades.

“I have only ever liked one boy in my life. I have only wanted one man to have as my own. I have only ever had one dream since I was eight. Styx, the dream is you. You stole my heart fifteen years ago and you still haven’t given it back.”

There are A LOT of triggers in this book. Violence, abuse, rape, you name it. It doesn’t pull any punches but if you are a MC book veteran you know how these books are. Lots of graphic violence, sex, alcohol, and strong language, so if that isn’t for you pick up a nice book about fluffy unicorns and rainbows. I also like the whole cult side story. It made this book to me stand out from the typical MC books out there. So if you are a MC fan you should definitely give this one a try! 🙂

iamb4.gif

Leave a Reply

