World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

Wowwzrld War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

By: Max Brooks

5  “Zombie Historian” Stars

Genre: Apocalyptic Horror

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $9.99 for Kindle; $17.99 on Audible (without free trial)

Wine in my Mug: Muirwood Chardonnay Arroyo Seco

Recommendation: Love Zombies? Listen to the Audiobook.

I didn’t “read” this one. I instead listened to the audiobook on Audible.com. To be fair, I read this book back in 2007 but I recently heard they did an audio version with an All-Star cast, and though it was abridged I think it was still far superior than that Brad Pitt nonsense a few years back.

Even Frodo was mad at that movie adaptation!

I actually hate the movie so bad as a representation of this book, I renamed it Brad Pitt vs. Zombies. Once separated from the book I loved. I found myself liking it much better. As a zombie movie, it was pretty good and is worth a watch but not as an adaptation of this book. I think to make a film based on WWZ it would be pretty tough though. It would be best as like a Netflix documentary series with each episode an interview from this book.

If you know anything about me (and you most likely don’t) I am a HUGE Zombie fanatic. I love having crazy discussions with friends on the whole Zombie vs. Infected debate to which I have strong opinions about. I got it down to a science and I love it so much, my darling husband even made me this as a Christmas present a few years back that I mounted on my wall:

wwz1
My husband is super AWESOME!

Zombies also helped me connect and break the ice between my father and I after 15+ years of estrangement. (We are both big The Walking Dead fans) I remember breezing through this book in less than a day then going back and rereading it slowly throughout the next week because I really liked it’s formula. (That is HUGE seeing how much I hate repetition. See yesterday’s book review for details :p)

I like how it was set up into interviews, and it read like a textbook almost. It sometimes made me believe it was real and when I read a few excerpts to my older sister who works in Environmental Health and Safety, she spooked me even further by saying that how the epidemic had spread was plausible. She likes to scare me with facts, especially at the dinner table during family get-togethers.

wwz2.gif

What the audiobook did that the kind of fell behind on was giving each character a different voice. It is hard to let different personalities through in the format in which the book was written in so I will give the author some credit. This was a very ambitious book, and I love how thorough he was in delving in and exploring every aspect of the epidemic from a technical and emotional standpoint using different characters POVs. The audiobook was well done, and the voice actors did a great job with this. My only gripe was that it was abridged. The unabridged version added eight more hours to the audiobook but I bought the 6-hr version because the reviews said it was superior and was given better treatment than the unabridged version.

“There comes a point when you have to realize that the sum of all your blood, sweat, and tears will ultimately amount to zero.”

“The official report was a collection of cold, hard data, an objective “after-action report” that would allow future generations to study the events of that apocalyptic decade without being influenced by the “human factor.” But isn’t the human factor what connects us so deeply to our past? Will future generations care as much for chronologies and casualty statistics as they would for the personal accounts of individuals not so different from themselves? By excluding the human factor, aren’t we risking the kind of personal detachment from a history that may, heaven forbid, lead us one day to repeat it?”

“America is especially sensitive to war weariness, and nothing brings backlash like the perception of defeat. I say “perception” because America is a very all-or-nothing society… We like to know, and for everyone else to know, that our victory wasn’t uncontested, it was positively devastating.”

So today I tackled the abridged version, while sucking down some Chardonnay and killing Super Mutants and Ghouls on Fallout 4. I even got some housework done and washed about 5 loads of laundry as I listened on and even though it is the chore I hate the most, I was able to find my happy place in the world of a zombie apocalypse.

wwz3

Leave a Reply

