The Dark Light Of Day

18278129The Dark Light Of Day

By:  T. M. Frazier

5 “Fucked Up And Messy ” Stars

Genre: Dark Romance

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $2.99 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Nope. It’s Tequila.

Recommendation: Depends on if you like Dark and Twisted

I’ve seen this book pop up pretty frequently on book lists on GoodReads and the description looked interesting, so I decided to give it a try. From the premise I knew that wine wouldn’t cut it so I splashed a few shots of this rose infused tequila I got from a family member on my birthday (And I’ve been hoarding) over some ice, threw a splash of lime in and settled in for what looked like an emotional roller coaster.

No not that kind of roller coaster!

Better. So this book introduces us to a girl named Abby. She is a loner who has a tragic past. Her parents were the very definition of the term abusive, so she moved to live with her grandma. She lived with Nan for almost four years when on the day of her high school graduation, she dies in a explosion. Now homeless, Abby has no where to go and no money, so she finds herself at a junkyard, using her Nan’s old car for shelter.

Enter the H, Jake. He is a biker, full of secrets, and a fellow loner. He comes into town and spots her squatting in the broke down car, which happens to reside in his father’s garage. Despite living a life free of attachments he catches a case of the “feels” for Abby. This is probably because they are kindred souls. He sees the same emptiness in her that he has and wants to save her.

Abby has an aversion to touch due to the abuse of her past and is scared that Jake wouldn’t want damaged goods. She fails to see that it is because she is broken, not despite, Jake wants to have her in his life. He shares in her same reservations that if she knew all of his secrets, she would run from him too.

“I’m afraid I’m going to look at your perfect face, and you’re finally going to see me as the monster I am.”

He takes her in, gives her a place to stay, an apartment above the junkyard, where they live together. Abby finally finds someone who makes her feel safe, and Jake finds someone who makes him let down his guard. Once they get past each other’s defenses and confide in each other, they connect in a way that most people can never achieve.

We may not have been perfect, or even acceptable by anyone else’s standards. But together, we were perfect.
Together, we were just us.
Battered and broken. Dark and difficult. Impulsive and scared.

But then something happens.

Yes Taylor, I think I will.

I won’t go on to say anything else in regards to the plot but to warn that this book does contain material that some people could find as a trigger. If you are sensitive to abuse, please do not read this. This is not the book for you.

Despite the gut wrenching, tear inducing moments of this book there are also moments that are just down right beautiful. Maybe it is because of the tragic part, I love the moments of light that much more.

“Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.”

This book also has a 90-page companion novella called Dark Needs. If you enjoyed this book it is definitely something worth a read. I got to spend a little more time with Jake and experience the powerful need and devotion he had for Abby and I tore through it in less than an hour. This was my first book with this author and she is going to be on my list of authors to read when I want to catch a case of the “feels”.

Leave a Reply

