Beautiful Disaster

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)Beautiful Disaster

By: Jamie McGuire

3 ½ “Anger Management” Stars

Genre: NA Romance; Angst; College

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $7.99 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Gallo Moscato

Recommendation: If you are a fan of high drama.

I came across this book on a display at the library. I hadn’t heard of the author before but I thought the cover was pretty and was impressed with its page length. 434 pages in one day? Bring it.

Once I got home and started to read it, I was immediately hooked from the beginning scene.

Beautiful Disaster is one of those books that works for me but I don’t exactly know why. It is full of things that other authors employ that I can’t stand but in this book…it didn’t bother me as much. I can’t exactly explain why that is, maybe it is due to the author’s writing style. It was very well written and the flow had me enjoying it despite it’s rather absurd content.

Abby is a textbook Mary Sue. She is a virginal, straight-edge who goes to an underground fight with her best friend wearing a twinset.

I have a sister who doesn’t walk out the house without a cashmere sweater on but she is in her 40’s and is super anemic. The only thing that kept me from rolling my eyes into my skull was that the character KNEW she was being ridiculous. She was rather self-depreciating about looking like Sandy from Grease visiting the pit in Fight Club. I guessed very early on that she used her clothing as a costume. She was trying to look like the person she wanted to be, not like who she truly was inside.

Abby feels your pain Mulan!

It is at this underground fight where she meets Travis Maddox. He is fighting an opponent in the ring and Abby gets the full ringside experience.

After the fight, they have a “moment” in where he gives her a nickname that stays with her the entire book. Pigeon.

As far as nicknames go, Pigeon is pretty lame. However, I am just glad that this author didn’t go the route that many other ones do and gave her a nickname like “Kitten”.

Travis is a whole bunch of NA romance clichés rolled into one. He is a tattooed, hot-headed, man-whoring, hard drinking, motorcycle-with-no-helmet riding, underground fighting, straight-A student. Yup. I wanted to hate him. I tried to laugh at the absurdity of such a character but I couldn’t. I blame this on what I will now call the “Travis-Factor”. I swear, every time that boy opened his mouth I was like:

Even when he was behaving his worst, I was like:

How could I not fall in love with him too when he said things like this:

“I knew the second I met you that there was something about you I needed. Turns out it wasn’t something about you at all. It was just you.”

“I know  you deserve better than me. You think I don’t know that? But if there was any woman made for me…it’s you. I’ll do whatever I have to do, Pidge. Do you hear me? I’ll do anything.”

It hit me in my cold, jaded heart. It made me like him despite some of the more stupid things that he did. The girl, however, lived to get on my nerves. She was so wishy-washy. I honestly didn’t see what Travis saw in her. At some points it even seemed like she did things just for the sake of the drama it would bring.

…and then there was the plot. It was all over the damn place. It seemed like the author had several ideas of what she wanted her characters to overcome but instead of picking one (or even two) of these things she was like:

This book could have been broken up into two or three books, based on the plot lines alone. However it is part of a series, a book to each Maddox brother but honestly, Travis could have a series of his own. This book could have been a series instead of a frankenstein-like creation of quick plot conflicts and resolutions. Less is more. Everything in moderation. It would have been a better read if she broke up these pretty interesting plot lines and explored each of them in to their fullest instead of treating them like a mash-up on Glee.

I wanted to give this book more stars, I really did. I enjoyed it and even recommended it to my sister-in-law. She absolutely loved it and I will probably receive and angry text because of how many stars I did give it. I think this author is very talented and I hope she keeps on writing because she definitely knows how to capture a reader.

After reading this book, I came across some reviews for it. Personally, I think some of them were a bit unfair. This book is fiction. It isn’t too be taken so seriously, and I didn’t even think any of Travis’ actions warranted such a response by some of them. However, I do read a lot of dark books, paranormal books, and other books with alphas way more intense and possessive than Travis, so when he had his little “man-tantrums”, I was like:

He never put his hands on her violently, and showed growth. He thought Abby deserved someone better, and then he changed to become that person. He was still a possessive hot-head at the end but other than that he became a better man. He grew up and was pretty consistent in regards of his feelings for her. I can respect that.

If you like angsty, college drama romances, Beautiful Disaster is a good book to check out. It was a fun read and worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

