Reaper’s Property

17375956Reaper’s Property

By: Joanna Wylde

3 “Why Do They Call You Horse?” Stars

Genre: MC Romance

Cliffhanger: No, but it is part of a series.

Price: $6.15 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Nope. I put ice tea in my mug but pretended it was Jack Daniels :p

Recommendation: Yup. 

When I read a MC book I treat almost like I treat a paranormal one. I know that there will be things in it that won’t follow any of the guidelines and rules that the real world imposes. It is best to go in it a blank slate and just accept whatever comes as a natural course of action, and enjoy the chaos. I don’t read MC books to learn life lessons or for spiritual inspiration. I read it to be entertained.

Poor decisions in works of fiction make me laugh. I can sit back on my comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattress, snuggled all nice and warm under my soft comforter and let my inner Judge Judy out.

If the book is good enough to really suck me into its pages, I would even wonder what I would do in the h’s shoes. Would I make the same mistakes? Would I put up with certain behaviors or people treating me that way? Books are great like that. You can live a life far outside the realm of your own, or be a voyeur into someone else’s without any reservations.

Reaper’s Property gave me so many opportunities to do just that. The book is about a woman named Marie. She has found herself back in her childhood trailer living with her pot-smoking brother. She left her husband because he was an abusive cheater and needed somewhere to catch her breath and get back on her feet.

She has a low paying job watching kids and her brother foots all the bills with the money he makes on his computer. When he isn’t getting high, he is using those skills to make money for a MC called the Reapers. She meets a few of these members one day during a scene where she was laying out in her front yard wearing a bikini as Def Leppard’s Pour Some Sugar On Me is playing in the background.

She sits up to see who was coming, well aware of the cliché she was representing, and that’s when she has her first interaction with Horse.

Not House. HORSE!

Why is his name Horse, you ask? Marie asks the same thing as well. Here is his answer:

“So why are you called Horse?”
“‘Cause I’m hung like one.”

This book is packed with such gems (which I will get to in a bit), but first let’s get back to the premise. They meet. The Reapers came to talk to her brother. He has been slacking on his end of their arrangement and they wanted to drop by for a face-to-face. Horse, however, after seeing Marie dressed like the Princess of Trailer Trash, immediately calls dibs on her. She brings them out beverages, changes her clothes, and calls her brother on the phone. Jeff, her brother, tells her he is on the way and she relays the message and whips up dinner for everyone, complete with an exhaustively detailed french bread recipe explanation.

She is scared of them. Still sporting a nasty bruise on her face from her last interaction with her ex, she tries to keep her distance from the tough bikers. Horse, isn’t having any of that though. When she excuses herself from the trailer to give the guys time to talk business, he followers her and tries to make a pass on her. She is attracted to him but declines his advances.

The book then fast forwards to present day. She comes home to see that the Reapers are visiting once again, but this visit is far from friendly. Apparently Jeff has been a naughty boy and stole money from the club. He owes them 50k and they have him kneeling on the floor, beat up and awaiting a bullet. Marie, desperate to save her brother from such a fate, agrees to go back with the Reapers to their compound until her brother comes up with the money. The only stipulation?

“You want to keep dumb ass alive, pack a bag and climb on my bike when we leave. You do what I tell you, when I tell you, no questions and no bitching.”
“Why?” I asked blankly.
“Why the hell do you think?” he said, voice strained. “So I can fuck you.”

They did Jodie. His name is HORSE!

He wants her and gives her a devil’s bargain. Some others who have read this book say that this is rape. I don’t think it is. There is a choice there. It’s a horrible choice but it was her own to make. She chooses to go with him and then the story continues on with some pretty chuckle-worthy Horse moments. Here are a few of my favorites:

“Fuck, this is gonna piss you off and then you aren’t gonna let me stick my dick in you,” he muttered.
“Do you have to be so crude?” I snapped.
“Have you met me?”

“You look like shit,” Horse said helpfully as he pulled up a lawn chair next to me. He sounded almost cheerful, which annoyed me. I glared at him and he smirked. “Still got a sweet butt though.”
I went from annoyed to pissed.
“Don’t call me that,” I snapped. “I don’t like it.”
“I know,” he replied. “That’s why I do it. You’re cute when you’re pissed. Kind of like a wet kitten. Gets me hard.”

“You’re a pig,” I whispered back. “You know that, right?”
“So far bein’ a pig works for me, babe,” he said. “Gotta go now. Check out the college. Hit the clinic and get some pills. Don’t call your brother. Cook something fuckin’ great for dinner and don’t wear any panties. That’s all I ask.”

Reaper’s Property isn’t all that original when it comes to MC Romance. It has the same things that you would expect from this genre, but it was entertaining. I wasn’t feeling good last night (the cold weather beating me down), but this book gave me a much improved mood after reading it and I went to bed still thinking about some of the better bits and laughing a little.

Leave a Reply

