The Mistake

25564665The Mistake

By: Elle Kennedy

4 “Second-Chance” Stars

Genre: NA Romance; Angst; College

Cliffhanger: No, but part of a series.

Price: $1.99 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Beringer White Merlot

Recommendation: A good NA romance if you like the genre.

After reading the surprisingly good first book of this series (The Deal), I went ahead and snagged the next one. After reading the description and finding it was about Logan, I was like:

His character in the last book, while being kinda interesting, didn’t grab me like Garrett or Dean. However, his character was much more interesting that Tyler’s so there is that. This book starts us off with him pining over the h of the last book, Hannah AKA Wellsy. He is sporting a major crush on her but she is happily with his best friend, Garrett. To try  to get over it, he spends much of his free time boozing and running through a line of willing females.

“Lusting over your best friend’s girlfriend sucks. First off, there’s the awkward factor. As in, it’s really fucking awkward.”

It is on such a quest, where he meets the h, Grace. She is a freshman virgin, who has the tendency to babble when she is nervous, and an all-around sweetheart. He goes to her room by accident, intending to pay another girl living at the dorm a nocturnal visit. They have a funny conversation, where she likened him to Ted Bundy, offered him gummy bears, and they watched Die Hard on her computer. This leads to an intense make-out session, where both are left wanting more.

They start (kind of) seeing each other, and then Logan makes a HUGE mistake. They part ways, Grace heart broken, and Logan realizes that is feelings for Grace far outweighs whatever crush he was harboring for Hannah. The next school year begins with Grace coming back wiser and over Logan, but he comes back to school with a plan. He wants Grace, and begins to court her in earnest, in an effort to prove his feelings for her, and she doesn’t make it easy.

“My girl wanted me to send her a boudoir shot of me on a red velvet chaise lounge, but you have no idea how hard it is to find a goddamn red velvet chaise lounge.”

I like this story because the characters feel realistic. Their problems, thoughts, and feelings aren’t overdone and seem like they went through things that everyday people have to go through. The plot, once again, was beautifully paced and the writing was well done. The dialogue had me laughing in some parts and the banter between the two was pretty entertaining. Though I went into this book with a neutral impression of Logan, with every page I started to like him more and more. I liked how his character matured over the course of the book, and was happy that this one had more male POV moments than the last. We got to see more of the men and what they talked about when there was no girls around, and it was awesome. ESPECIALLY DEAN!

“Has a girl ever faked an orgasm with you?” I blurt out. It’s eight o’clock on Monday morning, and I nervously tap my fingers on the kitchen counter as I look at my roommate.

Dean, who was on his way to the fridge, stops in his tracks so abruptly that if he’d been on skates, I would be wiping ice shavings off my face right now.

“I’m sorry, didn’t hear you. What was that?”

His expression is the epitome of innocence, so it’s not until after I repeat myself that I realize I’m being played. Dean doubles over, honest-to-God tears streaming down his cheeks as he shudders with laughter.

It was a nice NA read, a stand out among the genre that is full of unremarkable books. Keep writing Ms. Kennedy, and I’ll keep reading!

Leave a Reply

