Breaking Dragon

23574189Breaking Dragon

By: Jordan Marie

4 “Mama” Stars

Genre: MC Romance

Cliffhanger: No, but part of a series.

Price: $0.99 for Kindle

Wine in my Mug: Redd’s Green Apple Ale

Recommendation: Good for the price.

 

I came across this book while scanning through the Kindle Unlimited offerings. It immediately grabbed me because the H was not only a MC President, he was also black.

That like…never happens in this genre. It is like a rare unicorn that I immediately downloaded and started to read, super excited to see what this new-to-me author was going to bring to the table. It started out well enough. The writing seemed decent and didn’t annoy me…until we meet Dragon. Dragon is the aforementioned black motorcycle president I was getting all hot and bothered to meet only for me to be like:

Let me start out this small rant with this: I am mixed. My mom is black and my dad is white, but I was raised by my mom and really never had much contact with anyone besides black people until college. I wouldn’t call myself an expert in black culture, or black male culture at that, but I can honestly say that I have NEVER met a black guy who talked like Dragon. Ever.

I remember fondly the times my BFF and I used to skip school and head to Myrtle Beach to scope out the hotties during Black Biker Week (Yes, that is/was a thing). We would camp out in my old ’84 Honda Accord hatchback and spend the weekend ogling the man-candy that came to that event. We were underage so we didn’t do anything more than just fantasize, but it was fun just the same. Why? Hormones.

So when I started this book, I had no shortage of mental images of Dragon. I was thinking he looked like this:

However, when he opened his mouth he quickly turned into this:

Now I don’t have anything against A. C. Slater. He was a childhood crush of mine. I spent plenty of time trying to perfect my Mrs. Slater signature along with probably thousands of other young girls out there. However, that character is far from the one I would want to portray Dragon as. Why did I have this mental image? He constantly refers to the h, Nicole, as “Mama”. Yeah.

Now I will be the first to admit, I do call my hubby “Daddy” from time to time, but that nickname only goes one way. If he ever referred to me as “Mama” I would have probably look at him like he was crazy and instantly become as dry as the Sahara Desert.

It’s not sexy. It just isn’t. I don’t know a black guy who has ever said that to their significant other. I thought that was mostly a Latino culture thing (Mamí).  After I just rolled my eyes and pressed on, I came to enjoy this book a lot more than I thought I was going to. Sure the characters had moments were I got annoyed with them, Nicole especially, but they were pretty entertaining to read about.

The book is about a woman named Nicole. She was leaving her hometown behind with her friend Dani, and moved to a town where she encounters a few bikers at a gas station. She catches the eye of Dragon, who mistakes her as a “Twinkie” (club whore) but she quickly disabuses him of that notion. She leaves him with a pretty solid exit comment and thought they would never see each other again, but lo and behold, his club not only owns the house she and Dani are now renting, but also the strip club they are going work at.

He pursues her HARD! She constantly deflects his advances but he is not taking no for an answer. I loved the build-up of their relationship. Nicole has a strong personality, knows what she is worth, and won’t let anyone treat her less than with respect. She refuses to be just a play toy, or an easy lay, and I have much respect for that.

This attracts Dragon as well. He is a strong man, and needs a woman that won’t let him run all over her. He finds that her attitude is just as attractive as her body, and when he does finally get her, he doesn’t let go.

“You belong to me. My mark all over your body, I know what you’ve given me and you’re not fucking getting it back, you hear me Mama? You’re mine.” 

It was an awesome freebie, and if you don’t have Kindle Unlimited, well worth $0.99. Now I’m off to read the next one!

Leave a Reply

