Saving Dancer

24415976Saving Dancer

By: Jordan Marie

4 “Angst Alert” Stars

Genre: MC Romance

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $2.99 for Kindle; Free with Kindle Unlimited

Quick Thoughts: Really intense and prepare to cry a little.

 

This is book 2 in the Savage Brothers series, the first being Breaking Dragon. This book is about Jacob Blake, AKA Dancer, and his release from prison after he was sent there for killing a guy outside a bar for attacking a girl in the alley. The girl, Carrie, has harbored a crush for him for years despite their 15 year age difference, but he never saw her as anything but his late sister’s close friend.

After he is released, he is dealing with some intense issues and trauma that happened when he was incarcerated, and he hates her for it. He blames her for him being locked up, she should have never been in that area in the first place, so when she comes to see him after hearing that he is now free, he is downright cruel to her.

“What the fuck are you doing here?” She jerks back like I just physically hit her. I’ve never hit a woman in my life, but I have so much anger stored up, she’d be smart to stay away from me.

“Hi, Jacob,” she whispers into the room and it makes me want to scream and roar at her. I don’t want her here. I don’t want to see her, I don’t want to deal with her and I sure as hell don’t want to hear that sweet voice saying my name. She’s poison; she’s a fucking knife to the gut that repeatedly stabs. She’s the reason my head is all messed up, that my life is all screwed up and most of all she is the reason I want to swallow a fucking bullet.

“GET THE FUCK OUT OF THIS ROOM!” I roar pulling myself up and charging towards her.

“What are you looking at, bitch? You want to tangle with me too? I’d rather chop my dick off than have it anywhere near you,” he growls and it hurts.

She is staying nearby, under the protection of the club because her parents were murdered and that person is now after her as well, and the club is still trying to recover from the blow that happened in the last book. Dancer wants no part of club life anymore, wanting to just wallow in his misery, but Dragon isn’t having it, and calls him out and sets him straight.

“Red didn’t do shit motherfucker. You got messy. You want to handle an asshole? You don’t go off, in a town we don’t own, with witnesses around. Dance, you’ve been around, you know how this shit works. You screwed the pooch here. That’s on you. I couldn’t get you out sooner and that shit? That’s on me. Way I see it, Red is the only one here free and clear.

Despite it all, Carrie wants to help him heal and make things right between the two of them. No matter how bad he treated her, she kept trying to make things work, and forgave him even when I personally would have dropped his ass and took Bull “by the horns”.

I HATED Dancer most of the book. I understand that he was broken, and hurting over what he had been through, but that was NO REASON for him to treat Carrie the way he did, and I even started to dislike Carrie for accepting that behavior and letting him make her feel like crap all the time. When he finally hit “rock bottom” and came around, I had to refrain from rolling my eyes out of my head. He was like one more negative comment away from me washing my hands with the entire story, but after all of that I’m glad that I stuck with it and finished it to the end. Mostly because the next books in this series look way more promising.

So if you like broody assholes and the doormats that lets them walk all over them until they figure their shit out…this book is for you. The angst is high in this one, so wine is definitely needed.

 

Leave a Reply

