Lead

19286623Lead

By: Kylie Scott

4 “Cocaine Is A Hell Of A Drug” Stars

Genre: Contemporary Romance; Rock and Roll

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $4.99 for Kindle

Quick Thoughts: Strong female characters are the BEST!

Oh, Jimmy. If you are a follower of this series, you will remember him as the lead singer of Stage Dive, who on top of indulging to the excess with sex and drugs, is a pretty awful person. He says whatever he feels like, no filter, and doesn’t care if he hurts anyone in the process. There were a few times in the past books where I even physically cringed at what he let fly out of his mouth. Suffice to say, I was not a fan.

After an ultimatum by the band due to his excessive drinking/drug use, he goes to rehab, and once released, he requires a “sober companion” to keep him on the straight and narrow. Enter Lena, hired by the band to be Jimmy’s assistant, she is like his minder and lives with him, as he tries to stay sober.

Jimmy is a jerk. There should be ballads written about the intense self-love he has. Narcissistic, he only cares about himself, leaving him constantly at ends with Lena with his rude comments and behavior. She doesn’t let it get to her though. She fights her attraction she feels to him, instead focusing on how best to do her job, and as the book progresses, Jimmy and her strike up a friendship that then develops into more.

When they finally do burn up the sheets, it is HOT! He is a rather serious and intense character, complete with a tragic past and issues, the polar opposite of my FAVORITE band member Mal (the drummer), but Ms. Scott worked her magic and made me like him despite my previous loathing for his character.

“Love was truly one of life’s mysteries. That it could fuck you five ways to Sunday and still remain so utterly perplexing and unknown was kind of impressive. I guess it all depends on how you look at it.”

I like how strong Lena is as a character. She doesn’t let her “feelings” get in the way of setting Jimmy straight when he gets out of line. She is tough, has a backbone, and a healthy sense of self-worth that seems to be rare in romance books nowadays.

“So, Lena, darling, tell me, for curiosity’s sake. When do you put out?”

“Jimmy, my love,” I said, my voice soft and sweet, “I don’t fuck a guy until he has the balls to actually man up and talk to me about his feelings.”

Life was too short to take shit. Let people walk all over you and you got what you deserved.

It is because of this, she earns Jimmy’s respect, his friendship, and then eventually his love. She is consistent, dependable, and at times seemingly unshakable, and that was exactly what Jimmy needed.

“The truth is, I’m all about you, Lena. You’re my best friend. You’re my girl.”

I also loved getting to see the other band members again in this book. Mal was his usual over-the-top crazy funny self that had me laughing. This series should seriously be a show! I love their dynamics and the story line, and sad that there is only one book left. I DON’T WANT THIS TO END!

Leave a Reply

