The Dominator

24664133The Dominator

By: D. D. Prince

4 “Holy Sh*t” Stars

Genre: DARK Romance

Cliffhanger: No.

Price: $2.99 for Kindle; FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Quick Thoughts: With that title, why was I still shocked?

I don’t quite know what to say after finishing this book. I have so many words…feelings about this one I don’t quite know how to express it in a way that would make logical sense.

I guess I should start off with this…THIS BOOK IS DARK AS HELL! If you have any type of triggers you should stay clear of this one. It’s not for you.

However, if you are a fan of dark fiction full of crazy WTF moments and high amounts of abuse and mind games, read on.

The Dominator starts us off as a 19-year old girl named Athena “Tia”. She is a foster kid who just graduated from high school, and has a promising future that she is looking forward to. For the past five years, she had been staying with a wonderful family, though she has been in foster care since the age of nine due to her father’s neglect and inability to be a father and her mother dead from suicide.

Her father’s worthlessness is proved even further when he shows up to her graduation and while taking her out for ice cream, she gets taken as payment for his debts owed to the Ferrano family. He tells his daughter that she is to be a “marker” and held in their care until he pays the debt in full, and not to worry, but she is quickly corrected from that bit of misinformation when Tom Ferrano Sr., the head of the family, tells her that she is to be “given” to his son, Tommy, as payment for her father’s debt.

Tom wants his son to settle down and get married, because he wants to retire to the Caymans and leave the “company” to him. Tommy agrees and when he collects Tia, she recognizes him as the hot guy who came to her job at the local ice cream parlor a few days before. He went to scope out his future bride, while she thought he was just a hot guy who she didn’t have the courage to flirt with, and yet again she is corrected from her assumptions that is is a good guy.

Tommy is a complex character. He is perfectly okay-actually thrilled-with the prospect of owning Tia. He is anxious to break her, and train her to be his perfect…well that is where it gets a bit complex. He doesn’t want a submissive, but he has a compulsive need for control and doesn’t care what he has to do to achieve it. He wants her to bend to his every demand but not for her “fire” to completely die out.

“I will never, do you hear me, never ever be yours,” I grunted and tried to squirm away.

“Oh but you are mine,” he whispered, “I like your spirit, Tia. And I look forward to breaking it.”

He proceeds to play these crazy mind games with her, rapes her, beats her, and pretty much forces her to do what he wants, meanwhile keeping her a prisoner in his home until he is satisfied that she won’t run. She is pretty much traumatized by the whole thing, not wanting to be there and waiting for the first opportunity to run, while Tommy starts to grow feelings for his captive fiancé.

This girl, this gift to me that was sound asleep on top of me was so responsive, the perfect amount of defiant and afraid at the same time, and she was mine. All mine. I’d give her everything. She’d want for nothing. I’d give her everything she wanted and I’d avenge her for anyone who’d ever crossed her, including her sorry excuse for a father. I’d never wanted to give a woman so much before. I’d never wanted to take so much from her at the same time. I wanted her to give me everything she had, every emotion.

Events play out causing her to become even more conflicted with her feelings. She alternates between hating, fearing, and wanting him, spending pages and pages of this book internally debating and questioning her every feeling. It got to the point where I felt like I was just toughing it out until it got to Tommy’s POV, because even though the man was pretty much certifiably crazy, he had a single-minded focus and never really questioned his obsessive need for Tia.

He shows moments of sweetness in the book, making me start to come around to his character, showing some rather romantic and protective devotion to Tia that even threw me for a loop and start having questions in my head like Tia. I wanted to like him, but I hated how he treated her most of the time. He would abuse her, then apologize almost in the same breath. I was constantly feeling like I was having emotional whiplash from one scene to the next.

Tia explains it a bit better.

Tommy Ferrano was the man of my dreams but he was also the man of my nightmares.

This book was pretty lengthy, coming in at around 550 pages, and was packed full of crazy plot twists, death, abuse, crying, and interesting characters. The ending definitely made the book for me, if it went any other way I don’t think it would have been to fantastical to believe. After reading this, I think I am going to make myself a hot cocoa and put on a romantic comedy on Netflix. I’m spent!

Leave a Reply

